Five Minute Friday

Posted on August 5, 2011 by

3


Today marks my first participation in Five-Minute Friday, a weekly inter-blog event hosted and originated by The Gypsy Mama. The concept is sheer writing for the love of writing. No critiquing, no afterthoughts, no editing. Just five minutes of letting the words flow. Each week there’s a new theme, and participants need to write something along that theme. Now for the rules:

  1. Write your words (within 5 minutes) without editing them.
  2. Tell your readers you’re linking up here and invite them to come and share their unedited stories too.
  3. And most importantly, go visit, read, and compliment the person who shared right before you.
GO:

Whole

My eyes blink open, peering up in the ceiling in the darkness. I check the clock.

2 AM.

My mind whirls back to the day that’s passed. The day spent with her. The day spent working – for her. The evening spent sitting and listening – to her. Another night spent working – for her. And I realize it’s been almost a year of this.

Almost a year.

And I can’t tell where the time has gone. It has been a single joyful rush of happiness and sorrows shared. In the last ten-and-a-half months I’ve held her in my arms with all of the exuberance of a new groom. And I’ve held her in my arms with all of the sorrow of parents who have lost a child. But it has all been good. God has been good. I am a less selfish person – a more complete person – for these days I have spent with my Sophia Grace.

And so I reach my hand over in the dark and I find her left hand, and I feel the ring with which I wed her. And I press the thumb of my own left hand against the circling gold which clings to my finger.

Whole.

